New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | City, Street & Architecture | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Night view from my window

jasonyuen
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Night view from my window

This is my first try at a creative shot. I've only started my photography path a couple weeks ago. I've also never done any photo manipulation before. I am trying my hand at photoshop elements. My goal is to make the image convey a sense of a dark cold late winter night in Canada. Afterall, this image was taken at 3am in Toronto. I also wanted to emphasize the horizon maple leaf bokeh. Any suggestions? Please be nice but not too nice

Ricoh GXR A12
DIY maple leaf bokeh filter
35mm Leica Summilux F1.4
ISO 200
Exposure 6000ms

edited

original

Mar 01, 2014 at 03:35 AM
psharvic
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Night view from my window

Hey Jason, I think starting out with a lot of experimentation is a great idea. IMO your edit is a nice improvement as far as portraying dark and cold. The hot red maple leaf, however, works against that theme. The bright light (is that the moon?) is too centrally placed. See what you think of a pano crop from the bottom so that the start of the headlight streak is near the corner. Looking forward to seeing more of your work.

Mar 01, 2014 at 06:02 AM
jasonyuen
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Night view from my window