New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       4       end

Archive 2014 · Internal HDD failed, Please recommend NAS unit for replacement

amacal1
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Internal HDD failed, Please recommend NAS unit for replacement

I've always used a separate internal HDD for storage on my desktop. A few months back I added a 1 TB WD Blue drive and stored all of my photos and documents on it. I also did a complete backup of the contents onto a 1.5 TH WD Green drive (fortunately).

Well, the drive in my computer seems to have failed. It's taken with it everything I've created in the last few months, because I haven't done a backup since then. It's not a devastating loss, but it's painful to lose, nonetheless.

I'm an amateur, photographing family, friends, and events. I consider my photos, especially the irreplaceable ones of past memories and deceased loved ones, to be some of the most valuable items in my possession. I have my I first child on the way in a few weeks and I will not tolerate a loss like this again, if I can help it.
I've been considering getting a NAS device, and in the wake of this failure I can justify it. Also, considering the loss, I may be interested in a RAID configuration that can minimize data loss. I'm tech-savvy, but I've never fully warped my head around the nuances (or even basics) of RAID systems.

I'd like something that's easy to set up, but with good features and an emphasis on preventing data loss. A reasonable price would be nice (did I mention that I'll have a baby in a couple of weeks?).

Can anyone recommend a device and/or tips on preventing data loss?

Feb 26, 2014 at 03:32 PM
mikejl29
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Internal HDD failed, Please recommend NAS unit for replacement

I'd strongly recommend something from OWC - Great RAID systems at an affordable price.