New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Sony Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2014 · Sony A7/A7R lens flare

HansenTsang
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Sony A7/A7R lens flare

I shoot houses and I don't use a flash. I shoot 6 exposure and merge them in HDR. I don't get to choose the time of the day I shoot so I have to shoot from a dark interior to a bright window a lot.

I thought the Sony A7/A7R would make my equipment lighter and easier to carry.

Now I am getting into more issue with these two cameras. I am getting a lot more lens flare. The A7 is really bad. I am getting ghosting also. The A7R is a bit better but I still get a lot of decrease contrast.

I have been shooting these two cameras since December 2013 and tried all kinds of lenses. All with similar results.

So my question is if a polarized filter will help some? I am using the Sony 16-35mm and I can use a 77mm polarized filter. My Nikon 14-24mm is out of luck as far as filter.

Feb 15, 2014 at 10:38 PM
Steve Spencer
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Sony A7/A7R lens flare

I would look first to your adapter(s) and make sure they aren't causing internal reflections. I have heard that some have added black flocking to their adapters to reduce this problem. Does it happen with native lenses?

Feb 15, 2014 at 10:55 PM
HansenTsang
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Sony A7/A7R lens flare

Steve Spencer wrote:
I would look first to your adapter(s) and make sure they aren't causing internal reflections. I have heard that some have added black flocking to their adapters to reduce this problem. Does it happen with native lenses?

I have tried many adapters including the 2 Sony's, Metabones for Nikon, generic adapter for Olympus, EOS etc. Never tried a native FE lens since they don't make one wider than 24mm (24 to 70mm).

Feb 16, 2014 at 01:17 AM
ClausC
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Sony A7/A7R lens flare