New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2014 · Canon 1.4x Extenders,...specifics

uglyatc

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Canon 1.4x Extenders,...specifics

Yes, there are a ton of threads discussing their uses and differences in versions but rarely am I finding information specific to a Canon 70-200mm version II 2.8 USM lens. I am using a 7D. I am not a Pro,...shooting pics of my kids, sports and birds hitting my feeders in the backyard.

Questions:
Does it really matter which version of the Canon 1.4x extender to secure, be it the I,II, or III, that will marry well with the lens and camera previosly mentioned?
From a cosmetic viewpoint is the paint different between the versions?
Is it a fair assumption that most will say,... "Just get version III." ?

Thank you for the clarifications and recommendations.

Jan 28, 2014 at 07:49 PM
jasonpatrick
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Canon 1.4x Extenders,...specifics

They'll all work. The III is the best and the only one to match the exact color of the Mk ii version of your lens.

I don't think you can go wrong with the II or III version of the extenders. That being said, you did spend 2k for the version II of the 70-200. I assume you did that because you wanted the best zoom. Buy the Mk 2 extender if you want. If it works for you (it's a really good extender) use it and be happy.

The Mk III extender on your lens is very close in IQ to the 300mm f/4 is. It will be a great combo.

Edited on Jan 28, 2014 at 08:14 PM · View previous versions

Jan 28, 2014 at 07:57 PM
stempsons
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Canon 1.4x Extenders,...specifics

the 3rd gen extenders are supposedly designed to work better with the second gen lenses (faster focus and slightly better contrast). from what i've read, it really applies more to the 2x extender than the 1.4x.

compare for your self using this link.