New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Family Portrait Questions

dacop
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Family Portrait Questions

Hi Everyone,

I am basically a sports photographer. I have been asked by a friend to take a family portrait for his Mom's 80th birthday.

A few questions if I may...

1 . Are there any colors in clothing to avoid? The background will be white walls and a staircase.

2. I have 1 Alien Bee 400 with a white umbrella. What type of settings on the strobe and Camera should I try for?

Any other advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Jan 24, 2014 at 09:50 AM
Lisa_Holloway
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Family Portrait Questions

Hello! I would avoid all black, all white, or any crazy patterns and/or character clothing. I would also tell everyone to coordinate, not match. Pick a color palette that looks nice together, use accenting colors, etc. Do not have everyone dressed in the same exact color. With a white wall, you can probably get away with almost any color, but I'm thinking something bright and colorful would really pop and look great. I have a board on Pinterest with family fashion inspirations if you'd like to check it out: http://www.pinterest.com/lisa_holloway/family-fashion-for-photoshoots/

RE settings on the AB - I have no clue. I work primarily with natural light.

Good luck!

Jan 24, 2014 at 09:59 AM
bryanlindsey
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Family Portrait Questions

No patterns, solid colors. Get the light high up...think "raining down" light. The last thing you want to do is blast the front row and have the back row in darkness. FWIW

Jan 24, 2014 at 11:32 AM
Michaelparris
• • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Family Portrait Questions

How many people in the shot? Earth tones and jeans look best. What lens do you plan on using? Wider lens = less compression=less flattering look.