New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Sisters maternity - Few shots

Elfraim
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Sisters maternity - Few shots

Hey FM, I have been lurking around the forums for a long time now and falling more and more in love with photography.

As i am still in active duty (finishing in 2 months) i don't take pictures as much as i would like but! everything is going to change once i'm out.

Here are some pictures i took yesterday for my sister, C&C please! i am a newbie and i sold my old gear (and buying new gear in 2 months) I used my sisters KIT cannon.

3 - I wish i had a better lens to give it a more shallow depth of field.

Jan 12, 2014 at 11:41 AM
bryanlindsey
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Sisters maternity - Few shots

Welcome! The following is meant to help make you and I better photographers and is offered in a friendly tone. It is simply one person's opinion, for what it's worth

Prior to taking each of these pictures, what decisions did you deliberately make regarding lighting, posing, composition, and exposure? Was there a vision you were trying to achieve? Or did you simply raise the camera and shoot what was there?

1. Interesting idea, but composition does not work for me. Should have kicked that brown pillow off the couch, it distracts. Kid's eyes towards the camera are strange.

2. Harsh lighting and very contrasty, which I think goes against the mood you are going for. Crookedness doesn't work for me. Splotches in the background are distracting.

3. I kind of like the crookedness in this one. The background really does not work for me, and the railing bisects the kid's head which is generally a no-no.

Keep shooting and you will get better! Photography is not a spectator sport. FWIW

Jan 12, 2014 at 12:17 PM
docsmiles17
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Sisters maternity - Few shots