Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | City, Street & Architecture | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Dallas skyline composite

Jamesbjenkins
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Dallas skyline composite

Hey all,

This is my first time posting in this subforum, but I have an image that definitely fits here, so I wanted to share it with you all.

My wife and I have lived in Dallas for about a year now, but we've been so busy that, until last weekend, we hadn't had a chance to shoot the downtown skyline.

The 7 image pano that I created looked really good, but it was lacking the "pop" that I was hoping for. Unfortunately, we don't ever get really impressive nighttime skies. However, a simple image search revealed a rocky mountain starfield image, courtesy of Jeff Wallace (Flickr site: http://www.flickr.com/photos/wherezjeff/), which I just completed masking into the image.

This is my first time going to such lengths for an image like this. This is also the first time I've ever used a portion of another image as a composite for something I'm working on. I'd love some feedback from those who shoot these kinds of images all the time.

Thanks!

Jan 07, 2014 at 08:38 AM
P Alesse
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · Dallas skyline composite

Stitching, cloning, color correction, HDR... although it has been stretched, still winds up being fair game in creating a piece of photographic art. However, I feel borrowing an image from another photographer, whether given permission or not breaks the rules and crosses the lines of acceptance.