New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · D800 vs. Mamiya 7II

m.sommers00
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · D800 vs. Mamiya 7II

A local Mamiya popped up for sale and it's in exceptional condition. I had Mamiya RB67 before to try out medium format because I've heard/read that the overall tonality was still much better. But it was just too big at the end of the day to lug around and I barely shot it. The M7II is much smaller however and that really intrigues me. Also, it's lenses are limited and all supplied in the ad.

I have a higher end Epson scanner (V700) that I've used for 35mm film in my F100 and FM2n. I started shooting film out of curiosity, not that I specifically wanted to get anything out of it however I do like the look I get from B&W and some colour rolls (I like that vintage look, sometimes). I do know that film handles highlights much better than digital, but after scanning is this really the case? I have yet to scan the max resolution for print as I haven't printed any film stuff, just lower res things for uploading on the web.

Given my inventory, I'm not sure if adding a M7II would net me anything of great benefit. It's a considerable cost and I can't really give it a try, I either buy or not. But I can't tell if my curiosity is getting the best of me or if it's actually worthwhile addiiton. I suppose I wouldn't lose much money if any if I decided to sell.

What are you guys' thoughts? Any medium format film shooters around?

Cheers,
Matt

Jan 04, 2014 at 04:43 PM
the solitaire
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · D800 vs. Mamiya 7II

With the D600 and D800 available I´m no longer that sure there is still much of a benefit in recording capability. One thing that speaks in favor of medium format is the lenses. Compared to smallfilm lenses the medium format lenses are in a wholly different class in terms of rendering, contrast and color.