New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · Canon in camera HDR

waldr_p
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Canon in camera HDR

I recently decided to try out the in camera HDR feature on my 5D MkIII.

I've always liked the look of some HDR images though I've never tried HDR imaging before. I thought it might be interesting to start a thread for sharing Canon in-camera HDR images and for people to post any tips they have on how to get the best out of this feature.

These images were shot using the 'Art Standard' mode with 'Adjust Dynamic Range' option set to 'Automatic'. I also dialled in some exposure compensation.

http://m4.i.pbase.com/o9/11/572611/1/153864444.RU58SW13.OldTownSquare3085.JPG

http://m3.i.pbase.com/o9/11/572611/1/153864423.Nau0NuIP.CharlesBridgeView3069.JPG

http://m2.i.pbase.com/o9/11/572611/1/153864462.AqPOtHoh.ViewtoPragueCastle3066.JPG

I also just found this Canon guide on using the HDR feature.

If you have any in camera HDR shots you'd like to share or any tips on using this feature then please post these below!

Paul.

Dec 30, 2013 at 04:18 PM
lhdvries
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Canon in camera HDR

Nice use of a very "cool" feature.

Leon

Dec 30, 2013 at 05:58 PM
AGeoJO
• • • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Canon in camera HDR

Some folks dislike this feature because the resulting file is in JPG format but it is actually nice. I normally save the RAW files and back then I tried to "improve" the HDR using the RAW files on PS but I ended up liking the in-camera HDR result better. May be it was more my HDR processing skill that was not up to par. Anyway, I agree, this is a cool feature.

Dec 30, 2013 at 06:11 PM
sirimiri
• • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Canon in camera HDR

What Canon needs to do, is produce an app that either wirelessly or via the USB cable, allows the photographer to treat the Digic 5 (or 6, or 7, etc.) chips as a processing engine.