New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

1       2      
       end

Archive 2013 · 35mm RF lenses on A7r?

Jonas B
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.3 #1 · p.3 #1 · 35mm RF lenses on A7r?

zhangyue wrote:
(...)
35fle is a great lens for both WO or stop down if leica's MTF can be trusted, which I feel it is based on my experience.

You are speaking about the 35fle in an enthusiastic way. In my opinion that is partly justified - as long we don't involve bokeh or "sharpness" over the field in the discussion.

Really, I have no experience from the current FLE version of the 35 Lux-M. I have tried (during one day, doing controlled comparisons to the CV35/1.2 on a Nex.5) one copy of the 35 ASPH non-FLE and then bought another copy. They both behaved the same and stopped down to f/5.6 they did like this:
http://photos.imageevent.com/jonas_b/fotoforum2012mixed/fmaltgear2012/35Lux-M_asph_nonFLE_MTF_5.6.jpg

(The above is the Leica official MTF for the 35mm Summilux-M ASPH non-FLE at f/5.6.)

You can see that the two ASPH versions perform very similar to each other. Here is, again, what I found at the link to diglloyd you gave us:
"More severe cases

As shown below, the deep dip/wave with the Leica 35/1.4 Summilux-M ASPH FLE is a prime example of a lens whose field curvature is strong enough to have a serious impact on across-the-frame sharpness of planar subjects such as a wall/building or a distant infinity scene: focusing slighty differently to take this into account can in some cases mitigate the loss of sharpness in the mid zones."

And again, I don't think that is great. I don't want to sometimes be able to mitigate the dip effect by thanks to some special focusing technique. I want the darn image to be sharp border to border at f/5.6 and then I want to be allowed to focus on the composition instead.