New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Adjusting brightness on NEC 27-inch panel

Sharona
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Adjusting brightness on NEC 27-inch panel

Hello - I've been looking at NEC's site and did some Googling, and have not hit on an answer so until I can contact NEC directly, does anyone have an idea why I can't adjust my brightness? The buttons with the menu, etc on the bottom right are working, because I can access and "select" those adjustments. But it will not click or open or let me select the brightness button.

I've noticed that prints are coming out somewhat dark, and since I recently calibrated the panel, I wanted to check the brightness. (I am brand new to printing so I have no previous experience with "good" prints.) It's not the new generation of these panels - what else can I tell you? I definitely am missing something. Thanks

Dec 22, 2013 at 09:19 AM
howardm4
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Adjusting brightness on NEC 27-inch panel

which NEC 27 panel did you get?

Once the panel is calibrated (you *ARE* (!!!!!!!!!) using the NEC Spectraview software, right??), changing the brightness invalidates the calibration. if the prints are 'dark', then go back and recalibrate w/ a lower display brightness. For many, the oft-recommended 120 is too bright (I end up using something like 90-100 but YMMV).

Also, get yourself of a copy of the (free), NEC 'Multiprofiler' software (www.necdisplay.com) if you want to be able to adjust the panel but not have to go through a whole calibration cycle.

Edit: The 'Hot Key' function MUST be ON for the monitor front-panel rocker switch to be able to adjust the Brightness (this is noted in the manual).

Dec 22, 2013 at 10:35 AM
Sharona
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Adjusting brightness on NEC 27-inch panel