Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

Underwater p+s or u/w housing?

Slinger

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Underwater p+s or u/w housing?

I'm fairly new to the world of photography, and am still learning tons. I got my first dslr about 6 months ago, and am fully hooked. The gear never ends! I have got a used Nikon D90 and have now got several lenses and an SB900. I'm heading to Hawaii for 2 weeks and will certainly be taking it. The problem arises with our activities while there. We are planning on getting our open water dive cert, and doing some diving and snorkeling. DSLR underwater housings are simply too expensive considering I dont even dive yet, and the art is still new to me. So that leaves either an underwater p+s (reviews point me to a Panasonic Lumix TS5) or get a "standard" p+s and an underwater case. Everything I read about the underwater cameras seem to say they all suffer in the image quality area. I've never used one, so don't know how bad it is. I have a Canon 300HS that got me started in the whole picture taking obsession, and feel that it was awesome. I bought my girlfriend the newer 110HS and it was even better (she said) until it was stolen.

I know that the housings can cost as much as an underwater camera, but read that the u/w cameras only last so long, and die, then need to be replaced due to seals breaking down. I would think that replacing the standard camera once would then make the cost difference negligible. And I like the idea of the housings being user-servicable and monitorable. As well, with the housing (more stuff over the lenses) removed, I would suspect that the 'standard' camera would surpass the underwater version as a small take-along pocket camera.