New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2013 · 6D or 7D

Ttown Aubie
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 6D or 7D

I am new to the world of photography and looking for my first camera. I am interested in shooting outdoors: landscapes to wildlife. I am trying to decide between the 6D and 7D. I understand that one of Full Frame and the other is not. I also understand that the glass and the user have as much if not more to do with the outcome of the picture as the frame.

With all of that said please help educate me as to which one of these cameras would be the best for me and why?

Thanks in advance.

Edited on Dec 10, 2013 at 04:37 PM · View previous versions

Dec 10, 2013 at 04:29 PM
Scrumhalf
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · 6D or 7D

What do you shoot? Sports and birds - 7D may be better. Everything else, 6D perhaps. Depends on you use model.

Dec 10, 2013 at 04:36 PM
RobDickinson
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · 6D or 7D

Read up.

One is better than the other.

And vice versa.

Dec 10, 2013 at 04:37 PM
Pixel Perfect
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · 6D or 7D

I would never recommend a more than 4 year old camera. Technology marches on and 7D while still a good camera in many areas is showing it's age in the sensor area and if you must have a crop camera, I'd recommend moving to Nikon and getting a D7100. Also while the 6D certainly has great IQ, I would also recommend at least looking at the Nikon D610, which has an even better sensor.

If you really want Canon I'd get a 70D over the 7D or wait a few months when it's expected the 7D replacement may be announced.

Dec 10, 2013 at 04:38 PM
sb in ak
• • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · 6D or 7D

Like the others have said, it really depends....they have their strengths and weaknesses. If you're new to photography you might be better sinking that money into something cheaper (like a 60D, for example) and putting more money in glass.