New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Sony Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Sony a7r and file number/name display on the screen

Silversurfer_C

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Sony a7r and file number/name display on the screen

Hi all,

I am new to Sony as I just converted from Canon 5DIII and a bunch of lenses.

I seem to have a problem finding the file ID on the camera's screen. I can only see stuff like 256/278 for the folder of the day so when it comes time to reviewing the photos from a shoot where I went by the screen numbering, I got totally lost. Am I missing something here?

I love the a7r and some of the way cool things it does, but this is a real turn-off. Is there a way? The Canon always displayed the file name when reviewing on the screen. I've changed the file numbering/naming to "reset" in hopes that this helps. I also wonder if I should turn off folders?

Thank you for all your help.

Pierre (Toronto)

Dec 09, 2013 at 12:56 PM
sxgva
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Sony a7r and file number/name display on the screen

Menu --> Playback tab --> View Mode --> choose Folder View

Dec 09, 2013 at 02:17 PM
Silversurfer_C

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Sony a7r and file number/name display on the screen

sxgva wrote:
Menu --> Playback tab --> View Mode --> choose Folder View

Thank sxgva, but this was not what I had in mind, unless I have missed your information.

Compared to the NEX-6

Dec 09, 2013 at 05:56 PM
mawz
• • • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Sony a7r and file number/name display on the screen

File ID is at the top, the 109-0001 number on the A7 and the 107-0271 on the NEX-6. In both cases the first three digits are the folder number and the last 4 are the last 4 of the file name.

The 134/134 is current/total images in order, so you know where you are in the images on the card.

Dec 09, 2013 at 05:59 PM
Silversurfer_C

p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Sony a7r and file number/name display on the screen