Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

How to properly photograph handbags?

TMaG82
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · How to properly photograph handbags?

I'm extremely new to lighting as all of my photos have been using natural light. My wife told me this morning that she wants to sell some of her handbags and start helping her friends sell theirs as well. Not going to be listing on eBay but other websites. Obviously I can let het handle everything herself but I can't stand back and watch her take and upload pictures taken with her smartphone.

I'm using an EM-1 plus getting another RX1 soon. Have no other lighting equipment outside of the included flash with the EM-1 purchase. While I'm willing to put some money into this, I'd like to keep it a minimum. If I can somehow use the equipment for portraits of our daughter that would be even better.

I appreciate all the help.

Dec 04, 2013 at 01:11 AM
BrianO
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · How to properly photograph handbags?

It will depend somewhat on what material each handbag is made of. For example, if it's canvas you may want to use a hard light skimming across the surface to reveal the texture, if it's leather or vinyl you may need to use a large source to reduce glare, etc.

The good news is that whatever lighting equipment you get, you can almost certainly use most -- if not all -- of it for portraiture.

Before buying any lighting equipment, though, I'd suggest getting this:

http://www.amazon.com/Light-Science-Magic-Introduction-Photographic/dp/0240812255

Dec 04, 2013 at 01:26 AM
jefferies1
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · How to properly photograph handbags?