Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

speedlight trigger

blutch
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · speedlight trigger

I'm new to using strobes and speedlights, so lots of newb questions.

Is there any way I can trigger my Nikon SB700 with the Buff Cyber Commander? I need to trigger the OCF without using on camera flash. Do I need to buy a separate trigger? If so, what works well?

B

Dec 03, 2013 at 11:19 PM
tuanvo

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · speedlight trigger

The free route would be to set your Nikon SB700 in optical/slave mode so that your strobe's flash will trigger your Nikon SB700.

Or if you really do need to trigger your Nikon SB700 with a Cyber Commander, then you will need to get yourself a CyberSync Receiver Plus and a Speedlight Foot Adapter and hook them up to your Nikon SB700.

Cyber Sync Receiver Plus:
http://www.paulcbuff.com/csrplus.php

Speedlight Foot Adapter:
http://www.paulcbuff.com/slfa.php

Note that you specifically need the CyberSync Receiver Plus in order for this setup to work with the Cyber Commander. The regular CyberSync Receivers will not be compatible with your Cyber Commander.

You need the Speedlight Foot Adapter since your Nikon SB700 doesn't offer a PC Sync Port, which is needed to hook up your Nikon SB700 to the CyberSync Receiver Plus.

This is what your setup will look like:

As for myself, I have been successful in optically triggering my Yongnuo YN-560 III speedlights using my Paul C. Buff Einstein strobe. The results have been consistent for me.

Dec 04, 2013 at 01:01 AM
blutch
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · speedlight trigger