Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · How do you know what power to set your strobe at?

Orlov
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · How do you know what power to set your strobe at?

I'm new to studio lighting. I am looking to do studio photography and I was just wondering how you know what power to set your strobe at? I know you can use a light meter to set your cameras speed, but how do I know what the optimal power setting on my strobe should be for the particular object? I have an Einstein from pcbuff.

Thanks in advance for your knowledge.

Nov 27, 2013 at 08:50 PM
gregfountain
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · How do you know what power to set your strobe at?

Set the light meter to measure output at a given shutter speed. I set my camera in manual mode at 1/160th. I have a 5D3 so 1/160th seems to be optimal sync speed for my Elinchroms. I set the aperture at f/8, and then use the meter to adjust the main light to f/8 (by changing the output of the strobe until the meter registers f/8 in shutter speed mode, which measures for aperture). Depending on your lighting scheme and the ratios you want, you adjust the other strobes from there. Usually this results in your secondary strobes set for a faster f-stop, or lower strobe output.

Nov 27, 2013 at 09:05 PM
blob loblaw
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · How do you know what power to set your strobe at?

it's a bit of an involved question.

i'll give you two scenarios:

1. you have a picture in your mind first. you want shadows and depth of field to be a certain way.
You would pick your distance of light->subject for the shadows, and you would pick your f-stop on the camera for DoF.
The shutter speed will control the ambient light.