New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Polarizer filter queries

glojoh

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Polarizer filter queries

I am shortly embarking on the holiday of a life-time which is something we have always dreamed of doing....... a World Cruise.

I am told that the polarized filter is a 'must have' item?

I am a complete an utter novice regarding these things, I know absolutely NOTHING about them and would welcome any and all observations.

If I talk about about what I might plan to do with this then hopefully folks can put me right and offer better ideas?

First the main lens I plan on using are:

500mm prime 52mm filter
70-200mm Nikon zoom 77mm filter
Nikon 24-70 77mm filter

I have breathed a sigh of relieve over the fact that two lens take the same size filter but here is my first question

I am told the circular filter is the one to buy, but on the big prime lens this is not an option?? As far as I am aware, the filter screws into the rear of the lens and is not accessible to rotate?

I accept that if I pay 'pea-nuts' I can only expect 'monkeys' but is it necessary to buy the most expensive filters?

My intentions
I am dreaming about the ship stumbling across a 'tall ship' under full sail on the high seas!! I not only want the maximum definition regarding the ship, I would also love to bring out the detail of not just the sky, but also the sea.

Will this be an ideal subject for this type of filter and how would folks set their exposure to get everything I have listed? If it is relevant I will be using the D800 and the back-up of a D300