1       2      
       end

Archive 2013 · lubricants for ball heads in cold weather

Yukonica
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.3 #1 · p.3 #1 · lubricants for ball heads in cold weather

jcolwell,
Thanks! that would fit into my overall planning nicely.
Cheers.

Nov 19, 2013 at 08:37 PM
sorpa
• •
p.3 #2 · p.3 #2 · lubricants for ball heads in cold weather

@killersnowman, that gear head is a beauty. I want one.
What brand?

Nov 20, 2013 at 07:43 PM
Jeff Donald
• • • •
p.3 #3 · p.3 #3 · lubricants for ball heads in cold weather

I worked as an industrial engineer in the '70's and the material to use is a dry lubricant like Molybdenum disulfide. It doesn't react with regular acids (like what's on your skin), it is stable to 350c and doesn't melt until over 1,000c. It works in low temps below -100 F. It is slipperier than most of the other compounds mentioned and much more stable, meaning it'll stay put and not get on your hands, clothing or equipment in hotter temps. Graphite and silicon are not near as stable and could get on your hands or lens surfaces and then you'll have a cleaning issue. You should be able to get it at a larger hardware store, automotive parts store or online.

Nov 21, 2013 at 04:23 PM
Yukonica
• •
p.3 #4 · p.3 #4 · lubricants for ball heads in cold weather

Jeff Donald; you are wealth of information.
Jenny82: chill. … unless you've been talking to trench monkey and runamuck.. then use pm with them; please.

To Jeff: the nearest 'larger' hardware store is a Home Depot in Anchorage: 700 miles west of here. Not going to 'pop-over' while hoping they have it in stock. I'm cheap that way.

Nov 21, 2013 at 10:33 PM
Jeff Donald
• • • •
p.3 #5 · p.3 #5 · lubricants for ball heads in cold weather

Try here:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1-oz-MOLYBDENUM-DISULFIDE-Moly-MoS2-Powder-SUPER-FINE-1-2-micron-BEST-LUBE-GRADE-/281039964017here

Nov 22, 2013 at 01:32 AM
peter_n
• • •
p.3 #6 · p.3 #6 · lubricants for ball heads in cold weather