New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2013 · lubricants for ball heads in cold weather

Yukonica
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · lubricants for ball heads in cold weather

I bought an iOptron SkyTracker not long ago. The ball-head I purchased is… alright. Unfortunately the grease , or whatever, used is very temperature sensitive. At -5 C it basically freezes. Re-framing a shot is nearly impossible without dropping the settings for Polaris. A new, better, ball-head is in order.
Any information or experience with shooting with ball-heads in cold is appreciated.
-5 is nice weather. I'd like to be able to go out at -25/30.
I have a gimbal that works fine at low temperatures but it won't work on the tracker.
Cheers.

Nov 10, 2013 at 10:01 PM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · lubricants for ball heads in cold weather

I use a Manfrotto 468MG head in -25/30 deg temps, and it's fine.

OTOH, maybe you could try a bit of 'mineral oil' on your current ball head. It might free-up your ball, head that is. It works for me.

Nov 10, 2013 at 10:07 PM
Yukonica
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · lubricants for ball heads in cold weather

Thanks jcolwell, I'll give the mineral oil a try.
It is a cheap ballhead but considering the amount us use it will see in a year I'd rather fix it than buy a Markins to sit in a corner. Most of the time I have a Jobu on the legs.

Nov 10, 2013 at 11:33 PM
sjms
• • • • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · lubricants for ball heads in cold weather

If you lube the sphere and cup area that it moves in you defeat the ability for it to trap and lock.

Nov 10, 2013 at 11:57 PM
15Bit
• • • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · lubricants for ball heads in cold weather

Surely dry lube is best for something like this? Graphite or similar

Nov 11, 2013 at 01:48 AM
Yukonica
• •
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · lubricants for ball heads in cold weather