Nature & Wildlife Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Nature & Wildlife | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Novice birder saying hello and asking a few questions

sumtiw
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Novice birder saying hello and asking a few questions

A warm hello to all the photographers reading this,

I have been a silent spectator of this forum since a long long time.. Even before I registered myself here. This place has been a great inspiration and a great source of information.
To tell you a bit about myself- I am a student doing my graduation in Coputer Information System and searching for jobs.
I used canon 1000D (Rebel XS) with a Canon 55-250 mm for 4 years. I saved for a new set of Cam and lens for 2 long years. I have recently bought a 7D and a Canon 100-400 mm.
I also bought a Induro Aluminum tripod (I have no issues with its weight) with a RS-55 Ballhead.
I usually take pictures of Aquarium fishes and every once in a while I sell a photo or two to magazines. But my other keen interest is in bird pictures.
I go out on every Friday, Saturday and Sunday mornings. I go to lakes and ponds usually. Its been around 2 months that I go there on every weekend but my sheer bad luck that I never see anything else than Robins, Northern Flicker, House finch and sometimes a few black eyed junco (I live in Northern Colorado).
I have not even seen a single Raptor in last 2 months eventhough they say its the peak time for Raptors to show up in Northern Colorado.

A few questions-
1.In the morning hours lights is not that good especially when I am in the woods. Right now I use my 100-400 mm handheld at around 1/200 second and it makes "not so sharp" images. Then I tried taking my Tripod with me but again if I suddenly have to change the height or if I have to move from one place to the other, it's not an easy task.
Should I buy a Monopod? If yes, what kind of ballhead do you all use? Will my BH-55 work good with a monopod?