New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Wireless File Transfering

StowePhoto
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Wireless File Transfering

Hi guys-

I am pondering something due to a job that I have coming up towards the end of December. I have been tasked to shoot family portraits in an outdoor setting, and have prints available on site, directly after the photo is taken. So, printing would take place inside a building very close by to where the outdoor photos are being taken.

I am not experienced with wireless transmission of files to a waiting laptop, that is tied in to a printer. Are you?

Is it an easy thing to deal with? What about needing an on camera flash for the photos, do they make hot shoe mounted wireless file transmitters that a flash can be attached to?

Any suggestions or wise words from someone with experience with this would be a huge help. Thanks!

Jesse

Nov 05, 2013 at 05:18 PM
Ian.Dobinson
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Wireless File Transfering

What camera do you shoot?

The cheapest and could in theory be the easiest would be to use a wifi SD card like the EYE-Fi .

I have a transcend wifi sd card and when it works it does very well (sending images to my iPad) But it is prone to loose its link . I think eye-Fi is supposed to be a bit more stable .

By the way if your camera is cf based (like mine) then you just get a cf/sd adapter .

Your camera MAY have a dedicated wireless add on . Most canon bodies do and I believe most Nikon ones as well .
The canon ones are not hotshoe mounted so the flash is still usable . I think if a canon body can have a grip (is non 1series) then the wireless transmitter is a bolt on grip . (They are not cheap )