Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Nature & Wildlife Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Nature & Wildlife | Join Upload & Sell

Help with my BIF's please

shane8168
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Help with my BIF's please

Yesterday's post brought up some questions regarding equipment versus operator error. I tend to lean toward the operator error to answer why my BIF photos aren't up to par with you guys. I think I have enough images that are of high quality to rule out completely the equipment as being my holding point. Maybe not, you guys know way more about it than I do at this point.

If that is the case I need to know where to turn for help with the "operator error" part of the equation...

Understand that I am REALLY new to this (I gave up photography immediately after college and didn't snap a photo outside of family stuff for about 20 years) having picked it back up about three months ago when my wife and I took our family to Alaska.

My equipment for these photos is the same, Canon 7d, Sigma 120-300 f/2.8 (non OS) with a Sigma EX DG 2x TC. Probably the same bird in the same area. I'm using the "expanded" (I think it what it is called) autofocus area around the center square on my 7D and obviously have it on "rapid fire" with AI servo (or whatever that mode is called)

I have Lightroom 5 and am only now learning how to use it (which might be a big part of my problem...). My source of education is: 1) trial and error (heavy on the error); 2) Youtube; and 3) you guys...

Please give me any advice you can regarding how I can improve these.

Here are some examples:

1) One I am pretty proud of (not much of a crop nearly full frame)

2) Another of the same bird (cropped less than photo #1)

3) Same again

4) Yesterday's that didn't get such good reviews...

5) Redtailed Hawk from the same area/time