Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · First Time College Soccer/Baseball

hijazist
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · First Time College Soccer/Baseball

I've been an avid follower of this great forum with great admiration for all the technical and non-technical knowledge it provides.

I had the chance to shoot soccer, baseball and swimming for my school and I will be probably asked to do that on a regular basis. I am a landscape and street amateur photographer and never shot sports before so any C&C on these images would be much appreciated. Please don't hesitate to be harsh since I am looking to learn to improve my technique.

The main problem I had was that my longest lens was a 70-200 VRII on a D800 and even with a TC the FL wasn't enough many times. It's great for close action but I miss most of the midfield soccer action. Subjects look small in the viewfinder and I have to rely on cropping which means misfocusing, bad composition, no subject isolation, etc...

After releazing the limits of the lens now I acquired a Sigma 120-300 OS Sport and a D7100. I will use the D7100 with the 120-300 for far action (maybe with TC if light is good) and the D800 with 35 1.4 or 85 1.4 for close action. Any recommendation of how to best utilize this combo is also appreciated.

Baseball shots:

Oct 31, 2013 at 12:14 AM
hijazist
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · First Time College Soccer/Baseball

Soccer shots:

Oct 31, 2013 at 12:15 AM
schlotz
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · First Time College Soccer/Baseball

I would put the 70-200 on it vs the 35 or 85. Plenty of very good soccer shooters here on FM Sports forum. Browse for a while and you'll find a number of excellent examples to gage off of.

Good luck with your college gig!

Matt

Oct 31, 2013 at 09:13 AM
PennsyBill
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · First Time College Soccer/Baseball

I don't normally shoot baseball but I have a few comments.