Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

F-Stop Loka + 300mm f2.8 ?

OwlsEyes
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · F-Stop Loka + 300mm f2.8 ?

Hello,
I am looking to hear from those who have used the F-Stop series bags. I travel a lot (Africa, Costa Rica, Europe, throughout the US). I am a nature photographer (wildlife and landscapes http://btleventhal.com). I carry a simple but versatile kit: 5Diii, 7D, 300 f2.8ISL, 100mm macro, 40 f2.8, 17-40L, 320 EX.

I need to be able to carry all the gear with room for survival gear (jacket + food). I want to be able to keep my 300 f2.8 mounted to my 7D (hood attached if possible).

I currently put all my gear in a ThinkTank HD and can keep the hood on in shooting position. Unfortunately, this bag leaves no room for food or clothes and the frame and straps are less than ideal. The benefit of my think tank is that it can fit under plane seats, the problem... not ideal of back country applications.

Finally, I have looked at the Guru gear series... great for the gear (like my ThinkTank), but not great for long distance or challenging treks.

Will the F-Stop Loka meet my needs? Anyone who has one or has experience with the bag, please chime in.

regards,
bruce

Oct 29, 2013 at 03:52 PM
killersnowman
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · F-Stop Loka + 300mm f2.8 ?

Check out their icu pages http://fstopgear.com/product/mountain/icu/pro/xlarge they have great pics of each one with a multitude of gear packed in each. As far as the packs go, they are great, i have a loka and its very comfy but might be a bit small. Not sure. I don't know how big a 300/2.8 is

Oct 29, 2013 at 04:32 PM
dsjtecserv
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · F-Stop Loka + 300mm f2.8 ?