New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Please recomm specific PP software for me

ether1
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Please recomm specific PP software for me

Hi all,

As an amature photographer I am now looking to get some basic editing software and after reading several reviews I am still confused.
I am shooting with Canon T2i in RAW.
While I am very comfortable with computers and various applications I tried a few post-processing apps and got really turned off.,
I tried Photoshop CS3 - way too complicated for my needs...
I used and still use the free Canon DSLR editing software - like it but it is missing some features
I used MS Photo editor but it also is missing some features.

I mostly shoot landscape and some family events

What I need:
1. Simple interface that imports RAW files and can convert - batching is important (ie open 20 RAW files and have them all convert to small jpegs).
2. Cropping, resizing, adjusting sharpness, contrast, exposure etc...the basics
3. Red eye reduction (yes - I have some old photos taken with P&S that I want to fix one of those days)
4. Being able to easily do minor edits/ fixes; such as removing power lines or other small objects in the frame.

Some general, build-in FX would be welcomed but not critical....

Key here is ease of use and price under $150 or less

Thank you!!

Oct 28, 2013 at 12:08 PM
Dragonfire
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Please recomm specific PP software for me

Photoshop Lightroom

I ruined more pictures with Photoshop CS because it was wayyyyy more than I would ever need.

Lightroom might offer a trial version.

https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/tdrc/index.cfm?product=photoshop_lightroom

Edited on Oct 28, 2013 at 12:16 PM · View previous versions

Oct 28, 2013 at 12:12 PM
ether1
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Please recomm specific PP software for me