Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

Build your portfolio=work for free

kris416
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Build your portfolio=work for free

Hi,

I am by no means a professional photographer and I am trying to gain experience but I am unwilling to do it for free for companies just trying to take advantage of students.

Thoughts?

Example ad in Toronto.. .there are a lot of these

http://toronto.kijiji.ca/c-jobs-tv-media-fashion-Photographer-for-Luxury-Fashion-Label-Pop-Up-Shop-W0QQAdIdZ535501589

Oct 24, 2013 at 12:55 PM
cwebster
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Build your portfolio=work for free

"unpaid" and "professional" are opposites.

I'm sure they get the unpaid part, but doubt they get truly professional results.

I did a fair bit of free work to build my portfolio, much was TFP but none was for people advertising for photo services. I chose who, when, and where I worked and what I shot for free.

<Chas>

Oct 24, 2013 at 05:00 PM
BenV
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Build your portfolio=work for free

There was a good rant on this on Strobist.com

http://strobist.blogspot.com/2013/10/your-real-estate-agent-would-like-some.html

Oct 25, 2013 at 03:11 PM
kris416
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Build your portfolio=work for free

Great rant! Funny that this concerns the Realtors, as my brother does strictly real estate photography here in Canada and is convinced that realtors might be the cheapest people on earth (generally speaking). He works for the agents directly, and so many of the try to haggle his already VERY fair pricing. They make thousands upon thousands per listing, and don't want to fork over what is equivalent to pocket change for what is in reality marketing costs.