Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · Imac or Mac Pro - what should I get?

heikoM
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Imac or Mac Pro - what should I get?

Hi guys,

need a bit of help here, please. I am no computer expert at all, so I feel lost.
For now I have an old Imac with 4 GB RAM and a regular drive. I use Aperture.

I need to upgrade, because this thing drives me crazy. Sooo slow.

What do you recommend? Donīt do an awful lot of weddings (yet) but donīt want to spend unneccesary hours in front of my Mac either, as I have family and another full-time job.

Imac 16GB and SSD? or the new Mac Pro in the basic version?

Anything else?

I know, itīs not really wedding related, but you know, what it means to edit 1000 pics in a row and I know, I donīt get much BS here.

thanks,

Heiko

Oct 24, 2013 at 02:17 AM
TTLKurtis
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Imac or Mac Pro - what should I get?

Alternate idea... have you considered outsourcing batch edits?

Oct 24, 2013 at 03:01 AM
heikoM
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Imac or Mac Pro - what should I get?

about outsourcing...

edits and PP is part of my creative process. Still finding my way. So that is not an option i am afraid.

thanks for trying to help

heiko

Oct 24, 2013 at 04:14 AM
Guillaume de B

p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Imac or Mac Pro - what should I get?

I would max out a Mac mini and get whatever external monitor you like/can afford. Top spec Mac Minis are very fast, quad core i7, 16gb ram, SSD. Then if you decide you need a Mac Pro in the future when you have more work you already have a great monitor. That is the problem with iMacs in my opinion, you're having to pay for, and then throw away a screen every time you upgrade computers.

Oct 24, 2013 at 05:06 AM
playerofwar
• • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Imac or Mac Pro - what should I get?