Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · HS Football Pricing Question

jcbradshaw
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · HS Football Pricing Question

I have been shooting HS football for several years, making a few bucks, but not a lot. I have been asked by one mom about providing about 40-50 images of her son so she can build a book on Shutterfly or similar site. (No problem coming up with that many. He is the subject of a lot of them.) My normal prices are as follows:

Prints:
4x6 $9
5x7 $11
8x10 $17

Digital Files:
640x480 $4
800x600 $9
1024x768 $15
Full res $40

Obviously I am not going to charge her $40 per image, or $1600-$2000. So what would you charge for this?

Thanks,
Jeff

Oct 13, 2013 at 08:35 PM
Carl Auer
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · HS Football Pricing Question

I tend to price my prints towards who my clients are going to be. If it is a wealthy area the school draws from, I may go $7-10 for a 4x6 and around $25 for a 8x10. If it is a poorer area, around $5 for a 4x6. Digital files, small, $15-20, medium, $25-30, large, $40-50 full res, $150-200. I charge more for the full res because you sell that instead of prints that the parents may send to grandparents, siblings, godparents, etc, the digital file will be a deal, plus you give up the quality control of the printing. I would rather sell 5 prints than one digital file.

Oct 13, 2013 at 08:52 PM
jcbradshaw
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · HS Football Pricing Question

Carl,

I appreciate that. So what would you charge someone who wanted basically the entire season of their son in digital format for a Shutterfly book? That's 40-50 full res images. Clearly not full-price.

My area is not high-end, although this family is not poor.

Thanks,
Jeff

Oct 13, 2013 at 08:56 PM
jmcaverly
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · HS Football Pricing Question

Jeff,