Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       4       end

D7100 or Big Glass for Soccer

hijazist
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · D7100 or Big Glass for Soccer

I am in some dilemma at this moment. I'll be shooting college soccer & some women volleyball and I need to decide on my equipment. I am not a professional photographer but I pay much care about my output and much of my work is printed by those whom I shoot for. In other words, I am an amateur with the possibility of turning into a professional sometime in the near future so I care about my portfolio

Many games are at night and lighting is really bad so 2.8 glass is a must for me. I tried F/4 glass and the extra stop was really missed so I am sticking with 2.8 options for the time being.

I had a test session during practice with the 70-200 VRII & the D800 and although images were really great and AF was the best I am yet to experience, I still find that 200mm on FX is not enough for full field soccer. I am still not experienced in soccer photography but I learnt that the best location to be shooting from is between the goal and the corner. I can get the shots when the action is near the goal but midfield action is still far unless I heavily crop, which for now I am trying to avoid and only focusing on filling the frame.