New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Fuji X System ?'s

allstarimaging
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Fuji X System ?'s

Hello,
I have an X100 and the XE-1 + 35 1.4 & 14 2.8.. For those that are shooting Fuji gear I have a couple of questions or looking for thoughts and opinions...

1) Do you look at the Sony NEX move to a full frame sensor and wonder if the gear you are buying will have any value in a few years?

2) I'm not a engineer so the question I have is: Is it possible that the Fuji lenses would work on a full frame Fuji sensor if they ever roll one out?

3) I'm considering selling my X100 and XE-1 and lenses and just moving to the X100s as my only and everyday camera to really simplify my shooting and gear. Bad move or have you found the X100s to be that good?

Thanks
Jack

Oct 09, 2013 at 07:20 AM
Elusivesouls
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Fuji X System ?'s

I can't answer #1 or #2, but on the matter of #3... (I see you are not new and probably know this already, but just in case):

Camera kits, be it Canon, Nikon, Sony, or Fuji, are built around the quality of lenses you have available and own.

The bodies of those kits come and go. In example, you can own a Fuji X-E1, then the X-E2, and then the X-E3, etc. and always have the same lenses carry over from body to body.

Camera manufacturers are building their systems on the lenses, not the bodies. They want you to keep swapping out bodies and they keep you loyal by having you invest in their high quality lenses. You are far less likely to sell off several lenses than you are one single body and they know that.

The X100S, while it is a fantastic camera and has its place in the world, will eventually become out dated or you will become bored with the focal length. You will then need to sell both lens and body.

To sum it up: