Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Tom Hicks
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Macro World Resource

FM Forums | Macro World | Join Upload & Sell

Flash suggestion for macro travel?

blueimage
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Flash suggestion for macro travel?

Greetings,

I would very much appreciate the opinions of some experienced macro shooters. I have little macro experience, but will be in Madagascar for three weeks soon, and would like to refine my flash set-up to take advantage of the opportunities I missed on my last trip there. I'll be traveling with 5 lenses....covering 14mm to 560mm, including a 100mm IS macro. I'll also have a RT600EX flash and the transmitter for use on a 1DX and 5DIII.

My question is: would you experienced folks recommend taking a dedicated macro flash...like the MT-24EX, or just make do with the 600EX and some diffuser/bracket options. I'm willing to bear the weight of another flash, but only if it offers a distinct advantage, otherwise I might as well stick with the 600EX. Cost is not an really a consideration, but weight, portability and fast set-up time does come into play..... hand held shots will be the norm.

Thanks for your time and words of advise.

Jim

Verreaux Sifaka Lemur (This is as macro as I got on my last trip there)

Oct 07, 2013 at 03:34 PM
Dalantech
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Flash suggestion for macro travel?

Honestly Jim I'd just use the 600ex with a diffuser -just get it close to what you are shooting to get good diffusion and short flash durations (helps to freeze motion and give you more detail). Practice with whatever setup you decide to use though -macro lighting can be tricky.

Oct 07, 2013 at 07:48 PM
blueimage
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Flash suggestion for macro travel?

Dalantech wrote: