FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

1       2       3              16      
       18              57       58       end

Archive 2017 · Official: Zeiss Otus 55mm f/1.4 APO-Distagon

redisburning
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.17 #1 · p.17 #1 · Official: Zeiss Otus 55mm f/1.4 APO-Distagon

I still think Canon has the better plan. Well, I'm assuming because theyre next 50 is supposed to be an upmarket f1.8.

If they keep the speed down AND have a real budget to work with their lens could be ballpark with the Zeiss and be considerably less expensive. Nikon 58/1.4 is then 2/3rd faster but much more and IQ goes handily to the Canon. with today's high ISO, maybe f1.8 offers enough isolation.

if Im a Zeiss engineer Im laughing my ass off at this Nikon though.

Oct 17, 2013 at 07:28 PM
Jabberwockt
• • •
p.17 #2 · p.17 #2 · Official: Zeiss Otus 55mm f/1.4 APO-Distagon

Nikon is going to sell a ton of these, most photographers wont even consider anything without AF, it easily passed the "sharp enough" bar and is native. Plus the rendering from the samples seem quote gorgeous: more gentle than the otus without as much microcontrast, but still holding a good amount of detail while the OOF is a bit lush/dreamy...wedding photographers will love it.

Oct 17, 2013 at 10:59 PM
zhangyue
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.17 #3 · p.17 #3 · Official: Zeiss Otus 55mm f/1.4 APO-Distagon

Andy, I agree. The more I look the sample, the more I feel it is like leica R, not critical sharp, but sharp enough and in focus plain not much SA, DOF is very smooth. It is lovely. If we consider ZA 50 and canon 50 both around $1600, the price looks not that bad as well.
As I said, I am sure people can get gorgeous portraits from this lens. With more and more sample show up, people might get tempting.

Oct 17, 2013 at 11:28 PM
AhamB
• • • • •
p.17 #4 · p.17 #4 · Official: Zeiss Otus 55mm f/1.4 APO-Distagon