Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Fuji X-E1 autofocus. Conflicted learning experience.

marko1953
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Fuji X-E1 autofocus. Conflicted learning experience.

I have had the X-E1 for a couple of weeks now and today I finally got to try it out in a real world kid's birthday shoot. Up until now I have been taking scenic shots and some street photos. I read all the reviews before I bought it and was aware of the warnings about slow autofocus (compared to dslrs). I am a part-time wedding photographer and usually shoot with a 5D3 and and 5DC. I did update the firmware to the latest version (lens and body). I have been reasonably happy with the autofocus for the scenic shots but that kind of photography doesn't prepare you for a one year old's birthday! I was hoping to be able to use the X-E1 for some parts of weddings like the getting ready photos and the reception.

Upon arrival the little one year old was sitting on a deck with a very bright background (lake and sky). My first shots were very disappointing. The X-E1 couldn't handle the strong backlighting for acquiring focus. It hunted and hunted. Sometimes totally failing to lock focus at all. I tried aiming at different parts of the subject, side of the subject (higher contrast?) nothing worked. I knew my Canon 5D3 would have nailed this in a fraction of a second. Ok so it can't handle strong backlighting. I shifted my approach and got some good shots from the side and the front but the autofocus would sometimes let me down even in normal light. I thought of my 5D3 and how it would have given me 100% in focus shots at this scene.