New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Question on Canon Bad Shutters

kat5

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Question on Canon Bad Shutters

This may have been discussed previously, but I need help.

I've been shooting sports with a 1d Mark IIn for several years. One month ago, during a soccer game, a light streak started appearing in all my pictures. And in some, a large dark shadow. I know from reading this forum that that is the result of a bad shutter. At 205K actuations, I was expecting it. So I sent it in for repair. While I was waiting for the camera, I bought a used Mark IIn from a local camera shop. It had 52K actuations when I bought it. After about 500 shots, the light streaks appeared again. So I took it back to the local store I bought it from and they replaced it with one that had 81K actuations. This one lasted 5,000 shots before the streaks showed up. Three cameras, three shutters gone bad in 2 weeks.

So my question is... am I just unlucky or is it something I'm doing wrong? I'm using the same Sigma 120-300 F2.8 EX DG HSM lens that I've used since I first got the original. The lens is stuck at 300, but I've used it that way for several years. Could it be the battery? I just bought a new third-party battery. I love the Mark IIn but should I just give up and buy a different camera?

I just can't believe that it's just mere coincidence that these things are going out on me all of a sudden. As a software analyst by day, my brain just does not work that way. I'm wired to FIND the reason.

Forgive my ignorance. I'm just baffled. Any help would be appreciated.

KatFive

Oct 05, 2013 at 12:24 AM
Paul Mo
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Question on Canon Bad Shutters

So, you got no feedback from the shop or Canon?

Oct 05, 2013 at 12:33 AM
kat5

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Question on Canon Bad Shutters