Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Engagement Photo Shoot FAQ?

ucphotog
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Engagement Photo Shoot FAQ?

There is the very excellent wedding photo resource and info thread. However, I did a bit of searching and while there are lots of engagement photo session threads, I didn't see a resource thread for engagement photo sessions. Is there such a beast?

I am doing a engagement photo shoot for a cousin's daughter. It will be my first. I have done some photo shoots with my daughter and her husband, a time or two, so I have some general experience, but it is pretty limited. And my daughter was more or less self-directing. She had some idea of what she wanted, so I worked with that and took the photos.

What do I need most? I have lots of landscape photography experience, so I know which end of the camera to look through. What I need most is advice on how to guide the session. I am not really a director sort of person. I like taking candids, such as at family gatherings. That is the role of a more or less silent and invisible observer. However, for an engagement session, I will not be solely an observer, but rather an observer and director. Any guidance on that process will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Dave

Sep 23, 2013 at 10:53 PM
stevez32
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Engagement Photo Shoot FAQ?

What you need most is the hardest to get, lots of practice taking photos of couples. You may try a crash course in some creativelive.com posing/interaction videos and clip some ideas from some good photographers as inspiration. At least it isn't a wedding, so you can just go out there and have fun while learning on the job.

Sep 24, 2013 at 12:11 AM
ghdarnell
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Engagement Photo Shoot FAQ?