Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · "For my first wedding, I wish I had......"

divamum
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · "For my first wedding, I wish I had......"

You were all so helpful about my lighting query that I'm risking sticking my neck out a second time (and thanks in advance!)

What were those things you wish you had known BEFORE you shot your first wedding?

My first is on Saturday. I have never shot a wedding and have in fact turned several down, but this is a friend as well as former client and she talked me into it Some background:
- I've been shooting portraits and performance photography for a couple of years
- yes, there's a contract
- I have an experienced wedding pro joining me (worth every penny for the peace of mind!)
- 5dII/7d + fast glass + speedlights + modifiers + liability insurance
- I'm attending the rehearsal
- they are providing us with vendor food
- I've already packed a white wooden hanger

And... GO!

Sep 19, 2013 at 10:28 AM
bwield
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · "For my first wedding, I wish I had......"

Relax. Slow Down. Think

Sep 19, 2013 at 10:31 AM
TTLKurtis
• • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · "For my first wedding, I wish I had......"

For my first wedding I wish I had... more skills?

Sep 19, 2013 at 10:59 AM
g-money
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · "For my first wedding, I wish I had......"

For my first wedding I wish I had...Charged more!

Sep 19, 2013 at 11:12 AM
dmacmillan
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · "For my first wedding, I wish I had......"

f8 and be there.

Don't get hung up about equipment. The photo that might be better if taken with a 35mm instead of a 50mm lens doesn't matter if you missed the shot changing lenses.

Talk to the officiant and get the rules of the road. Make sure you follow them.

Remember there are guests. Try to be unobtrusive.