Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Steve Tinetti, Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

1       2      
       end

Church lighting question

divamum
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.3 #1 · p.3 #1 · Church lighting question

See first post... I've never done ANY wedding before!! I have, however, shot plenty of (classical, thus no flash) concerts in dark churches and other venues. This is just even worse than I expected .... lol

ETA: All that said, going through the few shots I took today and I think I have a little more leeway than I thought; I'll try to keep it to 2000. This is a bigger problem when using the 70-200, of course - the IS is terrific, but I just need more shutter speed. The 24-70 that I have on the 7d is actually doing great, and because I can drag the shutter more I'll be fine with the wider-angle stuff.

Sep 20, 2013 at 11:07 PM
divamum
• •
p.3 #2 · p.3 #2 · Church lighting question

The other pain is that the altar table - against the back wall - is BEAUTIFULLY lit. It's also white marble. So everything happening in front of it is backlit, but without any light on faces

Sep 20, 2013 at 11:11 PM
divamum
• •
p.3 #3 · p.3 #3 · Church lighting question

Thanks again for your help! Here's one of the formals - in the end I used one 42" umbrella up high, feathered down. Worked a treat. Never would have thought of that intuitively, so thanks again!

Btw, for whatever reason (the colours, I'm guessing?) this church looks SO much brighter in photos than it is in real life. It's a cave. - I've never been so relieved to turn on a flash as I was after the service (they'd requested NO flash during the ceremony). I was shooting concerts in Gothic cathedrals in Europe this summer and had less trouble getting properly exposed shots!

Sep 23, 2013 at 09:12 PM
jcolman
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On