Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Picture Frames with 3:2 ratio? like 7 x 10.5"?

jbouchard
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Picture Frames with 3:2 ratio? like 7 x 10.5"?

I expect this question has been asked before, but I've not found a thread on it.

Most of our cameras take pictures in a 3:2 proportion, 35mm film frames are 24x36, and my Nikon DSLR's are the same. Simple math 3:2 = 1.5:1 ratio. Except for the small 4x6" print that's not a common picture frame ratio. The standard options are 5x7 (1.4:1), 8x10 (1.25:1), etc. which means I've got to crop my 3:2 image. If I did a good job of filling the frame in the viewfinder, sometimes it's hard to decide "what can I give up in cropping?"

I'm a hobbyist, not a pro selling custom prints for big money. If I get a decent shot and want to give a print to a family member I tell my wife "next time you are at Walmart, pick me up a frame for this print"... I'm looking for a $5-10 frame, not a $100 custom frame. I've got a typical home inkjet printer with 8.5x11 paper, and it could print something like 7x10.5" in the 3:2 ratio, but there is no frame readily available that I know of, unless I use 8.5x11 document frame and an awkward matting job.

What does everyone do? Just shoot with plenty of space in the frame so you can crop 8x10 later? That's what I've done in the past, but lately I've been trying to do a better job of framing in the viewfinder and it's leaving me stuck. Getting a D3 with a 4x5 mode seems like an expensive option.

Sep 08, 2013 at 08:27 AM
sjms
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Picture Frames with 3:2 ratio? like 7 x 10.5"?

shoot to crop

Sep 08, 2013 at 09:18 AM
ben egbert
• • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Picture Frames with 3:2 ratio? like 7 x 10.5"?