New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Lastolite Hilite questions

mrhoni
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Lastolite Hilite questions

I have a 6x7 Hilite and a couple questions. I'm lighting it with 2 Canon 600EX flashes.

Does your Hilte stretch taught or do you have creases in the corners?

How close do you put your subject to the background?
I'm still learning how to work with it. I'm putting my subject about 5 feet in front and getting a bit more wrap than I want. I'd like to put the subject even closer to the background (space constraints), but then expect to drop the power on the flashes.

Do you light your Hilite where the full background is clipped or drop power until clipping disappears? If I do that, the creases in the Hilite start to appear and then I'd need to edit out.

http://www.mrhoni-photography.com/photos/i-QPVpQ4M/0/XL/i-QPVpQ4M-XL.jpg

http://www.mrhoni-photography.com/photos/i-TQ7sWcm/0/XL/i-TQ7sWcm-XL.jpg

Sep 05, 2013 at 12:13 PM
BrianO
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Lastolite Hilite questions

I don't own one yet, but got a chance to play with one for several days a couple of years ago.

What I was taught to do was to meter the subject lighting, and then set the HiLite to 1.5 - 2 stops brighter.

If you're getting too much wrap at your subject-to-background distance, though, your only solution may be to use a lower EV and then clean it up in post-processing.

In case you haven't seen it yet, here's a video from Lastolite with Mark Cleghorn on using the HiLite with Speedlites/Speedlights:

At the 14:12 mark, Mark goes into some basic Photoshop cleanup techniques.

Edited on Sep 06, 2013 at 02:11 PM · View previous versions

Sep 06, 2013 at 12:40 AM
Tom Robinson
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Lastolite Hilite questions