Username  

Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · First College Football Game - UA vs. VT

alainadenean

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · First College Football Game - UA vs. VT

I posted some of my photos from various sports a few weeks ago, and I was encouraged to post photos from each game that I shot, so I could receive better feedback. This was my first time shooting an actual football game. It was in the Georgia Dome. The lighting looked great, but I did have turn my ISO up to compensate for my shutter speed. I don't have the best equipment, being that I am a college student! This was my first time shooting with my new 5D Mark iii. I had a Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8, with a sigma 2X's extender on my Mark iii. I also had my T3i with me, with an 18-200mm, so I could get some wider shots. I am definitely looking forward to shooting an outside game, so I can keep my ISO pretty low and avoid the noise.

Open to any suggestions!

Thanks,
Alaina

Sep 03, 2013 at 07:25 PM
alainadenean

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · First College Football Game - UA vs. VT

6 and 7.

Sep 03, 2013 at 07:26 PM
Jeff_Stapleton
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · First College Football Game - UA vs. VT

These seem a bit underexposed to me.... also, are you standing while taking these? (kneel or sit when possible)

You captured good moments, but we don't always need to see the entire field or the whole play...

Somebody told me (probably Paul Alesse) that to get the maximum impact in a sports image, you need to capture what people in the stands can't see... which usually translates to getting CLOSE.

People want to see sweat beads flying, emotions on faces, strong eyes. They want to see some jubilation crossing the goal line. I've found that some of these types of shots are good, but "strong" sports images usually isolate the a player in the middle of a key thing (crazy tackle, fingertip catch, awesome defensive play)