New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Quality of Light with better strobes

jamesbibow
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Quality of Light with better strobes

Hello all- Im not really a newbie, but I have a newbie ish question..

Ive been shooting for many years, both in film and digital. Ive stocked up, sold all my gear and then did it all over again many times many times. Ive always been a fan of off camera lighting with strobes on location. I started out with cheap flashpoint brand, then alien bees and ended up with Elinchrom. I feel I have a very good handle on the tech side of things and I know how to light..

...my question is about light quality.

Im getting back 'into it' and re buying my gear again, and for cost reasons Ive started with the ol' "speed light in a wescott soft box thing" and while theres plenty of light for what I was going for (just a self portrait), Ive found the QUALITY of lighting to be very very different than say a elincrhom head and a octal (specifically the deep octa). Now, I understand about size of the box and distance and all that, but its not that the light was just softer...the subject just looked DIFFERENT.. better, more 3d with the El. I have no prob getting a good even, soft exposure using the speed light in a softbox thing, but the quality is VERY different.

So heres my question: Is it the strobe or the modifier that does this? or is it a combo? Im in the market to get some modifiers and a new strobe, but Im not sure if I want to spring for the whole set...because if its just the head, I can get an off brand SB or if its the modifier, then getting some Alienbees with a deep throat octa would do the trick.