Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

What am I missing?

GaryMc
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · What am I missing?

I almost hate to post this, but.... I am a very amateur photographer. I have been looking at the G1X from Canon. I compare it on DPreview (page 10 on G1X review) and it seems beat almost every camera. When I compare it on page 18 (raw), it continues to seem to beat almost every camera. The camera seems to get no love around here. I don't want to start a controversy about which is better and which is not, but what am I missing? I have all the camera I need for large enlargements ( Pentax 67 - which I love). I want a walk around camera for vacations and that periodic "damn, I wish I had my camera with me". So again, what am I missing?

Gary

Aug 10, 2013 at 02:30 PM
molson
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · What am I missing?

This is a forum to discuss Canon SLR cameras. The G1X is a Point & Shoot camera, not an SLR, and you'll probably find a lot more discussions about P & S cameras on a site like DP Review.

Aug 10, 2013 at 02:39 PM
GC5
• • • •
p.1 #3 · What am I missing?

You are missing the M, with better image quality, similar size, and half the price.

Aug 10, 2013 at 02:40 PM
Gunzorro
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · What am I missing?

Gary -- I'm of a similar mind to you. The G1X is a great all-in-on camera. Some people bemoan its poorly deployed close-up focusing (need to switch to macro mode for anything closer than around a meter away, I believe). And some don't like the optical viewfinder (I'll take it -- better than nothing!). Beyond that, I don't see much "wrong" with it -- overall great IQ, near APS-C size sensor, terrific high ISO rendering, and apparently a great zoom lens.

I'm looking to sell/trade a M43 lens to get a used one.