Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Would I benefit from more ram?

LarryBoy57
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Would I benefit from more ram?

Hi All,

I currently have a PC with an i5 3.10GHz processor and 8GB of ram running Windows 7 64 bit.

My primary program for post processing is Light Room 4.4.

Since I started shooting with a D600, the 24mp files seem to process slow compared to my D700 12mp files.

Would I benefit much by upgrading my ram to 16GB?

Thanks,

Larry

Jul 30, 2013 at 09:09 PM
Peter Le
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Would I benefit from more ram?

Yes absolutely .......I went from 8 to 32 and the difference is amazing. Ram is cheap now get as much as you can......it makes the biggest difference of any component.

Jul 30, 2013 at 10:21 PM
kezeka
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Would I benefit from more ram?

Peter Le wrote:
Yes absolutely .......I went from 8 to 32 and the difference is amazing. Ram is cheap now get as much as you can......it makes the biggest difference of any component.

If you can afford it, integrating an SSD into your workflow will make the largest difference. I went from 4gb of ram to 16 gb and it definitely helped. I know that using lightroom and photoshop I regularly hit 10 or 12. With ultra-large panoramic photos I have managed to use all of the RAM and 30 GB of hard drive space.

That said, no matter what you do lightroom is not going to be able to process the image adjustments faster unless you are able to do the calculations faster - having more ram will allow you to store the images in a buffer space that allows the processor to access them faster but ultimately it comes down to the processor. Welcome to the world of higher resolution photo editing.

Jul 30, 2013 at 10:27 PM
15Bit
• • • • •