New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Red River Aurora white wrinkling

ben egbert
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Red River Aurora white wrinkling

I print landscapes on 17x25 paper or sometimes roll paper using an Epson 3800 pro. I have been using this system for at least 5 years and never had issues.

Now I am having problems with systematic wrinkles, sort of a corrugated effect. I have played with drying time and ink density, I downloaded the latest Red River profiles.

I am pretty sure this is related to the batch of paper I have. It does not seem to happen with my roll stock and does not appear on 8-1/2x11 stock. I am reluctant to use up lots of roll stock for testing however.

The paper is probably a year old and stored in my basement. It is very dry here in Utah.

The wrinkles are about one inch wide and 2 inches center to center. They go in the long direction and are concentrated in the center and of course in denser print areas.

I would love to try various solutions on small sizes but it only appears on this one paper size.

Jul 15, 2013 at 11:27 AM
hugowolf
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Red River Aurora white wrinkling

It sounds like a sizing issue, perhaps with that batch.

You may be able to tell from looking at the dot gain through a loupe. It would be more evident at low printing resolutions and with lighter tones. You could print at say 720 dpi on a smaller sheet cut from the 17 x 25 inch sheet and compare with an 8.5 x 11 inch sheet.

Even without examining the dot gain, it would be interesting to see how the 8.5 x 11 cut from the larger sheet performs againt a precut sheet.

Brian A

Jul 15, 2013 at 08:14 PM
ben egbert
• • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Red River Aurora white wrinkling

hugowolf wrote:
It sounds like a sizing issue, perhaps with that batch.