Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Hendrik, Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Building a new computer....

John S. Hudson
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Building a new computer....

I have been using Elements for a few years, and honestly it does 99% of what I want it to do. Assuming that Photoshop Elements 11 has camera raw support for the 6D, I can't see that I will ever really NEED anything more powerful. I also see myself using Premiere Elements fairly often to edit the HD video from the 6D.

My question is one that is not easily answered, at least by conventional sources, so I turn to FM.

I plan to build a new computer, and I am having a hard time deciding what I need. I am considering a Haswell i7, probably 4770. However, I can't decide if I need a dedicated graphics card or not. There are a ton of cards for not too much money, under $70. However, is this even necessary? I have heard that the latest on chip graphics cards of the haswell processors are pretty good. But does Elements even take advantage of a dedicated graphics card anyway? I don't play games or do any 3D rendering or anything like that. I plan on having a 128 GB SSD for the OS and programs, and I figure that will be a huge boost in speed

Any advice or experience is welcomed. Thanks

Jul 12, 2013 at 02:19 AM
WAYCOOL
• • • •
p.1 #2 · Building a new computer....

In photoshop the only filters that use the video card are the new creative blur ones and liquify. Not sure if they are in Elements or not but if they are not a big part of you work flow then you do not need a dedicated video card.

A quick web search shows that Premiere Elements dose not use the graphics card either so the Haswell video is good for that also.

Jul 12, 2013 at 04:59 AM