p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Stormy Night In Tampa

20130710-IMG_4455 by jh28wd40, on Flickr

Jul 11, 2013 at 11:45 AM
sbeme
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Stormy Night In Tampa

Hey Josh,
First image on Critique: Welcome. And hope you like it here.
I have no experience trying capture lightning and I am always impressed when someone succeeds. Curious how you prepared for this capture.

While the lightning capture is nice and I like its off-center location and the wedge of cloud bringing the eye over to and down the bolt, I think the image is missing other elements to sustain interest. If you mine some of the shadow detail in the foreground you might have some interest there. And then the image becomes the foreground with "Oh, hey, cool, look at that lightning in the background!".

Scott

Jul 12, 2013 at 06:25 PM
Bob Jarman
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Stormy Night In Tampa

Welcome here too Josh,

Great capture - echo Scott's analysis and add how the object on right and left side help frame the lower third of image.

What are the technical details? Shutter-speed, f-stop, ISO?

Regards,

Bob

Jul 12, 2013 at 06:43 PM
MarcG19
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Stormy Night In Tampa

Josh,

Agreed broadly with Scott and Bob.

It looks like you used a wide lens (20-24mm equivalent?) and at the very least crouched to get some of the shore. If so, I like that. The overall composition has some good elements, but IMO it doesn't come together as well.

If you're looking for a wide shot of the sky with just enough of the ground to give it some context, it's IMO generally better to have a just enough of the ground in the shot to give context, but then have the rest be the sky. And in such cases, patterns in the sky make or break the image.