Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · Exposure Latitude Inconsistency - Why?

CJBoghosian

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Exposure Latitude Inconsistency - Why?

Hey, Folks!

My name is Christopher J. Boghosian - this is my first post. I'm looking forward to being a part of this vibrant community.

I'm an experienced photographer, though a novice with digital. So when I recently got my 60D, I tested exposures off a gray card and am confused:

After importing my images to Lightroom, the Lightroom histogram showed that my exposures were okay 5 stops below normal exposure, BUT ONLY 2 STOPS OVER. In other words, the highlights went off the histogram only 3 stops over normal exposure of the gray card whereas the underexposure shots were still on the histogram up to 5 stops under.

I was assuming a regular range of latitude up and down the range of exposure. Why such big jumps up the histogram when over exposing?

Also, can someone please explain this statement from Lowrie's "Canon EOS 60D Digital Field Guide" (2011): "The general guideline when shooting RAW capture is to expose with a bias to the right so that the highlight pixels just touch the right side of the histogram. Thus, when tonal mapping is applied during conversion, the file has significantly more bits that can be redistributed to the midtones and darker tones, where the human eye is most sensitive to changes."

I'm thinking Lowrie's statement might be connected to my initial question regarding the inconsistency in exposure latitude?

Thank you in advance for your consideration!

- Christopher

Jul 09, 2013 at 05:53 PM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Exposure Latitude Inconsistency - Why?

Hi Christopher,

Welcome to FM.