Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Portable Speedlite Setup Suggestions

shutter_bug

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Portable Speedlite Setup Suggestions

Looking for advise on a portable Canon Speedlite studio setup. Current equipment list:

- 5DMKIII
- x2 600ex-rt
- Canon st-e3-rt
- 24-70MKII
- 70-200L MKII
- 50L
-100L

I am going to add one more 600ex-rt speedlite to the above setup. Have done some continuous lightning setup in a studio environment with multiple 1000/600w studio lights, diffuser and form boards. So, been taught about Rembrandt, short, broad, mid, low and high key lighting. But, I have no experience with beauty dish, soft boxes or umbrellas.

Did some googeling around, here is what I may add to my current setup:

- Westscott rapid box 26" with beauty dish attachment
- X3 Manfrotto 001B light stands with umbrella adapters
- X1 Westcott 2011 43-Inch Optical White Satin Collapsible with Removable Black Cover

Don't think the my listing is going to cost much, somewhere between 300 to 400 max.What do you think? According to strobist 101, the best starting point is just plain old shoot thru white umbrella with light stands. But white shoot thru does not contain light spillage, am I right? Just want portability, quality of light, able to manipulate the direction and of course the quantity. Lastly, what do feel about the craftsmanship of Westscott stuff? Do they last? Do you have any other suggestions?

Thanks muchly.

Edited on Jun 26, 2013 at 01:57 PM · View previous versions

Jun 26, 2013 at 07:01 AM
cgardner
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · Portable Speedlite Setup Suggestions