Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Does a "professional" light weight camera syste...

dcape

Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Does a "professional" light weight camera system exist?

I apologize if this is not the right forum for this question, but I wanted "professional" responses. I am a serious non professional (working on my chops so to speak). I use a Canon 7D, with a Tokina 11-16 f2.8 Wide Angle, a Canon 24-70 f2.8, Canon 70-200 f2.8 and a Canon 100-400 f4.5-5.6 lenses,1.4X and a 2.0X extenders, a Jobu BWG Pro gimbal and Heavy duty tripod. I am currently in the market for a 500mm prime lens.
Here is my concern... I just returned from a photo trip to Venezuela, and while traipsing through the jungle climbing boulders etc. it became painfully obvious to me that the weight of all this equipment, and the complications of switching lenses back and forth as I attempted to photograph jungle, mountains, waterfalls, flora and fauna, made the whole experience a whole lot less fun (although I did get some wonderful shots).
I am wondering if I just have to suck it up and quit complaining (although the idea of carrying a 500 along with everything else is daunting to say the least) or is there a camera system out there that is light weight, but has the professional features and results that I can get with my current equipment? Any thoughts and suggestions for research would be welcomed and appreciated.
Dennis

Jun 24, 2013 at 09:02 PM
dlabrecque
• •
p.1 #2 · Does a "professional" light weight camera system exist?

Rangefinders might be your best solution, but not an inexpensive one. A Leica M9 comes to mind. Lenses for this line are also expensive, but no more so than what Nikon charges for theirs.

Jun 24, 2013 at 09:38 PM
M Lucca
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off